RECIFE, BRAZIL – JUNE 26: Matt Besler of the United States acknowledges the fans after losing to Germany 1-0 during the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil group G match between the United States and Germany at Arena Pernambuco on June 26, 2014 in Recife, Brazil. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

VIDEO: Matt Besler gets away with handball in box late in CONCACAF Cup

The USMNT almost lost the CONCACAF Cup in the most tragic of ways. Matt Besler appeared to handle the ball inside the box and it wasn’t called. As the game entered stoppage time, Besler put his arm out and really could’ve been a penalty kick.

It really did appear like a blown call. The referee didn’t call it, the USMNT and Besler is saved for at least another 30 minutes, and the CONCACAF Cup enters extra time.

About Phillip Bupp

Producer/editor of the Awful Announcing Podcast and Short and to the Point. News editor for The Comeback and Awful Announcing. Highlight consultant for Major League Soccer as well as a freelance writer for hire. Opinions are my own but feel free to agree with them. Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @phillipbupp