CONFUSED! Player saves his own shot with his own hand

A Greek league player, for some reason, saved his own shot with his own hand as it was going into the goal.

How does a referee call this? Is this a bookable offense for a handball, an intentional handball at that? Why is the player trying so hard to not score? Either way, it’s one of the more confusing plays on the field in a long time.

(SB Nation)

About Phillip Bupp

News editor for The Comeback and Awful Announcing, highlight consultant for Major League Soccer as well as a freelance writer for hire. Opinions are my own but feel free to agree with them. Follow me on Twitter @phillipbupp